Is a Facebook profile the new Resume?

We’re noticing a new trend here in the college recruiting world, and it’s the idea of social media replacing traditional job applications. In the past month, we’ve been approached by two rather reputable organizations (one very large, and one more local) who are conducting their intern searches via Facebook. I am torn between two responses to this idea:

  • GenY reponse: How interesting! And new! And exciting! Wait…all of my friends will see that I’ve applied. What if I don’t want them to know? What if all of them apply too and then weaken my chances? Or, what if my current co-workers that are Facebook friends see that I’ve applied?  Hmm. I’m not sure how I feel about this.
  • Professional Career Services response: How interesting! And new! Wait…applicants will be revealing pictures and personal information? That’s not supposed to happen during the pre-employment process. This could get messy…the EEOC doesn’t like it when that stuff comes up. Hmm. I’m not sure how I feel about this.

I think it’s a bit too early to know where this trend will head but my guess is that we’ll see more companies trying it before the laws catch up.  In the meantime, as always, the UCI Career Center will not be endorsing any recruiting efforts that ask for a picture or prohibited personal information from applicants. Let us know if you have questions!

Leave a Reply

