Thank you, Gracias, Merci, Danke…

Confession time: Despite being a member of Generation Y, there are some things about me that, by most definitions, are a bit old school. Examples: I love me some Otis Redding, I have never read a book on an e-reader, and I am a big fan of both Vince Vaughn and Will Ferrell (Just kidding. Sort of. That’s a different kind of Old School).

But, most importantly, I firmly believe in the value of good ol’fashioned thank you notes. Not emails, not re-tweets, not shout-outs in the comments section of a website, but short & sweet, personal, handwritten notes that make the back of my pinky turn black with ink as I write them.

Like this

That said, thanks to our director’s willingness to let me try new (or old!) things, I recently spent some hours compiling a list of employers in a particular field that had utilized our services last year, and then hand-writing them thank you cards. In an era of email-blasts and tweets, I encountered some raised eyebrows at this project. However, guess what happened!

…Okay, you don’t have to guess, I will tell you: among those who have received the cards, feedback has been very positive! Responses have included a LinkedIn request, emails of appreciation, and job postings for which they’d like to recruit more UCI students (in my field, this is one of the best responses possible).

So, the reason I share this experience here is that perhaps this story may strike a chord with some of my fellow old-schoolers and/or note-writers. Take heart…you are not alone! Send that thank you card with pride! Get some ink on your hands! Lick an envelope!  And, then, feel good about your effort because people will notice it.

With that, hope everyone’s week is off to a good start. Until next time…

Leave a Reply

