Nice to meet you, please look at my pictures.

Friends and readers, I think it’s time I share some of my wedding pictures with you. Well, sort of.
 
See, we welcomed a new team of student employees to the Career Center a few weeks ago. From what I’ve seen so far, they are a rad bunch, and we wanted to ensure they got properly introduced to the professional staff. One of the ways we made this happen was by sharing collages. Yes, collages…as in, the glue-y messes we made in elementary school. But trust me, after this exercise, collages are one of my new favorite communication platforms (right after text messages, and owls).

Employers, I present to you my own collage, and the suggestion that those charged with getting to know lots of people (or ensuring that lots of people get to know one another) use a similar tool. Nothing is more awkward than being asked to “introduce yourself to the group” without having anything prepared. This way, we all had something to talk about, and we were each in control of the topics we shared. Perhaps this could work for a new class group of interns or new hires?

Yes, the bottom image is of a lop-earred rabbit standing on his hind legs printed on powder blue paper. It's a long story.

 On that note, I wish you all a happy weekend!

-DBO

Leave a Reply

